Estimated duration

1 h


Taideyliopiston Sibelius-Akatemia

Aleksei Zaitsev’s piano concerto Salainen puutarha (The Secret Garden) is a fusion of music and dance. 

The programme explore different feelings of sensitivity, melancholy and grief by taking the listener through shadowy streets and secret gardens, ending up in the joyfulness of Hungarian folk music.  

In addition to the well-known works of piano literature, contemporary Finnish music and more obscure gems of piano music will also be performed at the concert. The movement of two dancers adds a new dimension to the music of Leevi Madetoja’s suite Kuoleman puutarha (The Garden of Death).  

Come along on a journey that will speak to your heart and soul, leaving every member of the audience with a truly unforgettable experience. 


  • Alexei Zaitsev, piano 
  • Paavali Velinpoika Kärkkäinen and Elli Virtanen, dance 

Further information: Matti Leisma,

Young artists of summer 

The concert series presents recent graduates and students of the Sibelius Academy of the University of the Arts Helsinki who have excelled in their studies. 

See other concerts

Mannerheimintie renovation project

Access to the Musiikkitalo from the direction of Mannerheimintie will be difficult. We recommend that you allow enough time for your arrival and use the entrance on the side of Kansalaistori if possible. According to current information, the entrance to Mannerheimintie will also remain in use throughout the renovation, but pedestrian routes can be challenging at times.

We recommend following the official information channels of the renovation project, where you can find the most up-to-date information.