Estimated duration

2 h


Musiikkitalon urut soimaan ry

The concert will feature the 13th and the last unperformed composition awarded in the Kaija Saariaho Organ Composition Competition. The concerto Syöjätär, by the Hungarian-born and American-based composer Bálint Karosi, will be premiered by the composer himself at the Turku Cathedral on the previous day. The concert is conducted by the orchestra’s new artistic director, John Storgårds, who is well known to Helsinkians. The organ concerto makes versatile use of the organ’s microtonal registers. The concert is concluded with Antonín Dvořák’s first symphony.

John Storgårds, conductor
Balint Karosi, organ

Edgar Varèse (1883–1965): Intégrales

Bálint Karosi (s. 1979): Syöjätär for solo organ and chamber orchestra, premiere


Antonín Dvořák (1841–1904): Symphony No 1 C Minor
1. Maestoso –Allegro
2. Adagio molto
3. Allegretto
4. Finale (Allegro animato)