Estimated duration

2 h, incl. intermission


Radion sinfoniaorkesteri

Elim Chan, conductor
Mao Fujita, piano

Noriko Koide: Swaddling Silk and Gossamer Rain
Camille Saint-Saëns: Piano Concerto No. 2 in G Minor Op. 22
Sergei Prokofiev: Symphony No. 5 in B-flat Major Op. 100

Late-Night Chamber Music
Tuuli Talvitie, violin
Giuseppe Gentile, clarinet
Jouko Laivuori, piano
Noriko Koide: Paradise fishes brilliant night
Béla Bartók: Contrasts

Noriko Koide spins a silk and gossamer web out of her orchestra, in music combining the musical traditions of East and West. Saint-Saëns also commanded different styles; according to one contemporary, his Concerto in G Minor begins with Bach and ends with Offenbach. The soloist, Mao Fujita, is particularly famous for his renderings of Mozart. The Second World War was still raging when Prokofiev wrote his fifth symphony in 1944.