Estimated duration

2 h, incl. intermission


Radion sinfoniaorkesteri

Sir Mark Elder, conductor

Claude Debussy: Le Prélude à l’Après-midi d’un faune
Claude Debussy: La mer
Richard Wagner: Prelude and Liebestod from Tristan and Isolde
Richard Wagner: Suite from Die Meistersinger

Late-Night Chamber Music
Mackenzie Melemed, piano
Taija Angervo, violin
Ilari Angervo, viola
Tomas Nunez, cello
Gabriel Fauré: Piano Quartet No. 1

The Prélude à l’Après-midi d’un faune by Claude Debussy was a pioneering work in French orchestral literature, as was La Mer. In Tristan and Isolde, Wagner translated into music a story of forbidden love in endless melodies and languorous, unsettling harmonies. The Meistersinger von Nürnberg is also a love story, but contrary to Wagner’s usual solution, it has a happy ending.