Estimated duration

2 h, incl. intermission


Radion sinfoniaorkesteri

Olari Elts, conductor
Jan Lehtola, organ
Robert Jordan, bagpipe
Helsinki Music Centre Choir

Ernst Pingoud: Dance Macabre
Federico Perotti: Essence, Organ Concerto, world premiere (Kaija Saariaho Organ Composition Competition commission)
Peter Maxwell Davies: An Orkney Wedding
Felix Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 3 in E Minor “Scottish”

Late-Night Chamber Music
Jan Lehtola, organ
J. S. Bach (arr. Reger): Chromatic Fantasy and Fugue
J. S. Bach (arr. Middelschulte): Chaconne
J. S. Bach (arr. Merikanto): Prelude in B Minor
J. S. Bach (arr. Widor): St. Matthew Passion, Finale

The title of the organ concerto by Federico Perotti, laureate of the Kaija Saariaho Competition, refers to the materials used to make the instrument. It is also an admonition to respect Nature. Peter Maxwell Davies’s An Orkney Wedding is one of the few works in musical literature with a bagpipe solo.