Estimated duration

2 h, incl. intermission


Radion sinfoniaorkesteri

Nicholas Collon, conductor
Tomas Nuñez, cello

Thomas Adès: Aquifer
Henri Dutilleux: Tout un monde lointain, Cello Concerto
Pyotr Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4 in F Minor Op. 36

The word aquifer means an underground layer of water-bearing porous stone, earth or gravel. The layer beneath the surface in this new work by Thomas Adès bubbles and seethes, yet the sound is as transparent as clear groundwater. The FRSO’s principal cellist Tomas Nuñez is the soloist in the poetically-named concerto by Henri Dutilleux. The distant world sounds like quiet night music from which the solo instrument now and then emerges. The stirring fate motif in the fourth symphony by Pyotr Tchaikovsky bears echoes of his personal life.