Estimated duration

2 h, incl. intermission


Radion sinfoniaorkesteri

Nicholas Collon, conductor
Emma Mali, violin
Laura Vikman, violin

Johannes Brahms: Tragic Overture Op. 81
Eugène Ysaÿe: Amitié
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 6 in F Major

Amitié means friendship: Belgian violinist-composer Eugène Ysaÿe dedicated his piece to a journalist friend. The soloists in our concert are both from the FRSO’s own ranks., Laura Vikman and Emma Mali. Ludwig van Beethoven sought inspiration during his daily country walks and named the movements in his Pastoral Symphony after natural phenomena. The symphony is, he said, more about the feelings aroused by Nature than detailed tone painting.