Estimated duration

2 h, incl. intermission


Radion sinfoniaorkesteri

Nicholas Collon, conductor
Christian Tetzlaff, violin

Bohuslav Martinů: La Bagarre
Jean Sibelius: Two Serious Melodies Op. 77
Josef Suk: Fantasie for Violin and Orchestra Op. 24
Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 7

Late-Night Chamber Music
Emma Vähälä, violin
Taija Angervo, violin
Ezra Woo, viola
Tuomas Lehto, cello
Leoš Janáček: String Quartet No. 1 “Kreuzer Sonata”

The brooding seventh symphony by Antonín Dvořák reflects the tension from which he was suffering when he wrote it. The music of his pupil Josef Suk has the same recognisably Czech feel. He was also a brilliant violinist, as is obvious from his Fantasia. Jean Sibelius was in war-time pessimistic mood when he composed his Two Serious Melodies in 1914.The religious tone is rare for Sibelius.