Estimated duration

2 h


Radion sinfoniaorkesteri

Nicholas Collon, conductor
Alexandre Tharaud, piano

Claude Debussy: Jeux
Maurice Ravel: Piano Concerto in G Major
Igor Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring

The premiere of Igor Stravinsky’s Rite of Spring in Paris in 1913 is the most famous succès de scandale in the history of music. It well deserved the furore, so revolutionary is the music. The fine ballet Jeux by Claude Debussy first performed two weeks earlier was totally overshadowed by the Rite of Spring scandal. The slow movement of Ravel’s Concerto in G is one of the most memorable Adagios in the keyboard repertoire.