Estimated duration

2 h


Radion sinfoniaorkesteri

Constantinos Carydis, conductor
Alina Pogostkina, violin

Periklis Koukos: Adagio
Leonard Bernstein: Serenade for Violin and Orchestra
Charles Ives: Hymn: Largo cantabile
Robert Schumann: Symphony No. 3 in E-flat Major Op. 97 “Rhenisch”

The Adagio for Strings by Greek composer Periklis Koukos is a movement from the cantata Persians based on Aeschylus’s tragedy of the same name. American music’s great private thinker Charles Ives created a similar funereal mood in his miniature Hymn, while Leonard Bernstein’s Serenade drew on Plato’s dialogue The Symposium about love and its various manifestations.