Estimated duration

3 h, incl. intermission


Radion sinfoniaorkesteri

Nicholas Collon, conductor
Elina Vähälä, violin

Lara Poe: Kaamos
Olli Mustonen: Violin Concerto No. 2 “Larin Paraske”, world premiere (Yle commission)
Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 1 in E Minor Op. 39

“The soundscape of Kaamos is translucent and was based on the sense of silence and twilight found in the polar night of northern Lapland,” says Lara Poe of her breakthrough work. The new violin concerto by Olli Mustonen is “a grateful tribute to Larin Paraske [a central figure in Finnish folk poetry]; to her impressive persona, her life’s work and her tremendous significance to Finnish art.”