Estimated duration

2 h, incl. intermission


Radion sinfoniaorkesteri

David Afkham, conductor
Petri Aarnio, violin

Lili Boulanger: D’un soir triste
Oliver Knussen: Violin Concerto
Arnold Schönberg: Pelleas & Melisande

Late-Night Chamber Music
N. N. , oboe
Petri Aarnio, violin
Joshua Kail, viola
Miika Uuksulainen, cello
Jouko Laivuori, piano
Oliver Knussen: Sonya’s Lullaby
Oliver Knussen: Cantata
Oliver Knussen: Prayer Bell Sketch

Lili Boulanger was already causing a stir with her progressive music by her untimely death. Her music tends to be labelled impressionistic, but her last orchestral work, D’un soir triste, comes closer in style to expressionism. Says Oliver Knussen of his violin concerto, “At times the violinist resembles a tightrope walker progressing along a (decidedly unstable) high wire strung across the span that separates the opening and closing sounds of the piece.” The trapeze artist in tonight’s performance is the FRSO’s own leader, Petri Aarnio.