Estimated duration

2 h, incl. intermission


Radion sinfoniaorkesteri

Dalia Stasevska, conductor
Olli Mustonen, piano

Helvi Leiviskä: Suite for Orchestra No. 2 Op. 11
Einojuhani Rautavaara: Piano Concerto No. 3 “Gift of Dreams”
Witold Lutosławski: Symphony No. 4

Helvi Leiviskä’s second Suite for Orchestra is based on her music for the film Juha, while the literary source of inspiration for Eino-Juhani Rautavaara was Baudelaire, from whom he borrowed the poetic subtitle “Gift of Dreams” for his third piano concerto. The last symphony by Witold Lutosławski crystallises an idea he had been developing for decades; the seemingly one-movement symphony falls into two parts, the first of which is designed whet the listener’s appetite, and the second to satisfy it.