Estimated duration

1 h


Radion sinfoniaorkesteri

Kaisa Kallinen, artistic planning and Baroque violin
Kaisa Kortelainen, traverso
Jukka Rautasalo, Baroque cello and gamba
Jouko Laivuori, harpsichord and organ
Hannu Vasara, Baroque violin

Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber: Sonata II C139
Johann Heinrich Schmelzer: Sonata XIII a due
Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber: Harmonia artificioso-arioso Partia V
Élisabeth Jacquet de La Guerre: Sonata
Jacques Martin Hotteterre: Suite op. 2 No. 5
Marin Marais: Tombeau pour Monsieur de Lully
Élisabeth Jacquet de La Guerre: Triosonata No. 1 G Minor

The spring series begins with the Baroque. Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber was a Salzburg composer and violinist and wrote a set of seven partitas called Harmonia artificiosa-arioso in 1696. The French harpsichordist and composer Élisabeth Jacquet de la Guerre was also writing trio sonatas in Paris at about the same time (1695). De la Guerre was the first French opera composer, and musically progressive in more sense than one. Publishing music for the harpsichord was still rare in Paris at the time, and her first collection of compositions, Pièces de clavecin, dated from as early as 1687.