Estimated duration

1 h


Radion sinfoniaorkesteri

Paavali Jumppanen, piano
Yuki Koyama, flute
N. N., clarinet
Jerry Piipponen, percussion
Jouko Laivuori, piano
Jukka Rautasalo, cello

Pierre Boulez: Sonatina
Pierre Boulez: Dérive
Pierre Boulez: Sonata for Piano No. 3
François Couperin: Pièces de viole, Suite No. 1

Paavali Jumppanen tonight had a chance to polish his rendering of the third Piano Sonata by Pierre Boulez with the composer himself. The suites for viol by François Couperin were long thought to have been lost until a single copy bearing the initials FC on the cover was found in the French National Library. Couperin is thought to have composed them as a tribute to the great master of the viol Marin Marais.