Susanna Mälkki, conductor
Lauri Kankkunen, cello

Ingeborg von Bronsart: Jery und Bätely, Overture
Kimmo Hakola: Wake! (world premiere)
Esa-Pekka Salonen: Cello Concerto
Jean Sibelius: Finlandia

Kimmo Hakola’s new composition Wake! is part of the Helsinki Variations series and refers to Jean Sibelius’s Finlandia, an early version was called Finland Awakes. “My composition is a proclamation for our time that awakens humanity to live more responsibly and bury the selfishness that destroys lives – right now!”

“If film director Stanley Kubrick were alive and only started making his film 2001: A Space Odyssey now, he could replace György Ligeti’s music with the first movement of the cello concerto (2017) composed by Esa-Pekka Salonen” (Helsingin Sanomat). Lauri Kankkunen, director of the HPO’s cello section, performs as soloist.

Starting from 9,50 € 11,50 € / 9,50 €

Coffee or drinks?

Helsingin kaupunginorkesteri


Starting from 11,50 € / 9,50 €

Buy tickets

Coffee or drinks?

Order refreshments