Pablo González, conductor
Yeol Eum Son, piano

Karol Szymanowski: Sinfonia Concertante for Piano and Orchestra
Pjotr Tšaikovski: Symphony No. 6, Pathétique

Acclaimed conductor Pablo González and pianist Yeol Eum Son, finalist of the Tchaikovsky Competition, present a concert programme with music composed for cultured entertainment and tunes from the depths of the Slavic soul.

Polish composer Karol Szymanowski wanted to tour the concert stages as the soloist of his own Sinfonia Concertante. He described the piece as being easily approachable and the solo part as being suitable for his pianist skills. After appearing in Copenhagen in 1933, remarks by a Danish critic made Szymanowski reply to his friend: “Oh my God, is it really that serious now? I just wanted to compose a little entertainment music for a wider audience, that’s all!” The cheerful Sinfonia Concertante resolutely avoids complex experiences and great drama, unlike Pyotr Tchaikovsky in his Sixth Symphony. The glowing pathos of that piece has long fuelled speculation concerning the autobiographical nature of the work, which was especially close to the composer himself: “I love it as I have never loved any other of my musical offspring.”

Starting from 9,50 € 11,50 € / 9,50 €

Coffee or drinks?

Helsingin kaupunginorkesteri


Starting from 11,50 € / 9,50 €

Buy tickets

Coffee or drinks?

Order refreshments