Klaus Mäkelä, conductor

Pierre Boulez: Initiale
Sauli Zinovjev: Wiegenlied (Finnish premiere)
Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 1

The autumn season culminates in a programme led by conductor Klaus Mäkelä. The orchestra plays the lead role in as the star brightening up the December evening.

“Great respect and thanks to Professor Kajanus and the Philharmonic Orchestra for taking on Mahler’s Symphony No. 1 and the mainly praiseworthy performance.” The Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra performed the Finnish premiere of Gustav Mahler’s First Symphony under conductor Robert Kajanus in November 1911, 110 years ago. Karl Fredrik Wasenius, a music critic who wrote under the pseudonym “Bis”, devoted plenty of column space to praise both the composer and the work, as well as the performance. “Where could we find in our days a counterpart to this symphony, whose music indicates maturity and grandeur!”

Starting from 9,50 € 11,50 € / 9,50 €

Coffee or drinks?

Helsingin kaupunginorkesteri


Starting from 11,50 € / 9,50 €

Buy tickets

Coffee or drinks?

Order refreshments