Leonard Slatkin, conductor
Angela Hewitt, piano

Cindy McTee: Circuits
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 22
Josef Suk: Asrael Symphony

With over a hundred recordings and five Grammy Awards to his name, maestro Leonard Slatkin makes his debut in front of the HPO. Pianist Angela Hewitt brings to the concert hall treasures from the world of Mozart’s concertos ennobled by experience.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart performed his own Piano Concerto in E-flat major for the first time in Vienna in 1785. The audience was enamoured with the sad slow movement of the concerto that varied the tragic theme, demanding to hear it again immediately as an encore.

“Suk’s Angel of Death is not for the faint-hearted” (Independent). Josef Suk began composing his symphony, named after the angel of the death of Israel, in memory of his father-in-law, Antonín Dvořák. While the symphony was still on Suk’s desk, his wife, Dvořák’s daughter, passed away. Composed in the shadow of death, the symphony became a testament to the composer’s power and salvation: “Music saved me.”

Starting from 9,50 € 11,50 € / 9,50 €

Coffee or drinks?

Helsingin kaupunginorkesteri


Starting from 11,50 € / 9,50 €

Coffee or drinks?

Order refreshments