Esa-Pekka Salonen, conductor
Christoffer Sundqvist, clarinet
Russell Thomas, tenor (Oedipus)
Jeni Packalen, mezzo-soprano (Jocaste)
Tommi Hakala, baritone (Creon)
Jussi Myllys, tenor (Shepherd)
Timo Riihonen, bass (Tiresias)
Irina Björklund, narrator
Polytech Choir, coach Saara Aittakumpu
Esa-Pekka Salonen: Concertino for Clarinet and Orchestra, fp (Yle commission)
Igor Stravinsky: Oedipus Rex

Stravinsky had no time for vulgar Wagnerian drama, and instead sought a more analytical approach to opera. As the language for his setting of the Classical tragedy he chose Latin, which to his mind was free from all that was vulgar. The text of Oedipus Rex is by Jean Cocteau and reflects the atmosphere in 1920s Paris.

The premiere of the Concertino for Clarinet and Orchestra by Esa-Pekka Salonen is an undisputed “event”. Salonen wrote it at the request of the FRSO’s principal clarinettist, Christoffer Sundqvist as an FRSO commission.

Starting from 19 € 37 € / 19 €

Coffee or drinks?

Radion sinfoniaorkesteri


Starting from 37 € / 19 €

Coffee or drinks?

Order refreshments