Nicholas Collon, conductor
Boris Giltburg, piano
Helsinki Music Centre Choir

Sergei Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No. 4 G Minor Op. 40
Igor Stravinsky: Psalm Symphony
Béla Bartók: Suite from the Miraculous Mandarin, Op. 19 Sz. 73

All the works in this concert were composed within a decade of one another, though they each have a very different musical worldview. The fourth Piano Concerto by Sergei Rachmaninov had been preceded by a silence lasting no less than eight years, and it reveals a surprisingly modern, restless, tragic Rachmaninov. The Symphony of Psalms was Igor Stravinsky’s reply to a request from his publisher to compose “something popular”. The original stage version of Bartók’s pantomime The Miraculous Mandarin caused such a scandal that it was no longer staged during the composer’s lifetime.

Starting from 9 € 38 € / 9 €

Coffee or drinks?

Radion sinfoniaorkesteri


Starting from 38 € / 9 €

Coffee or drinks?

Order refreshments