Giedrė Šlekytė, conductor
Juho Pohjonen, piano

Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 5 E Flat Major Op. 73 “Emperor”
Richard Strauss: Macbeth Op. 23
Franz Schreker: Vorspiel zu einem Drama

Late-Night Chamber Music
Erwin Schulhoff: Concertino for Flute, Viola and Double Bass
Kaisa Kortelainen, flute
Albert Papp, viola
Kati Salovaara, double bass

The fifth piano concerto by Ludwig van Beethoven well deserves its imperial title, The Emperor. It was not, however, a title chosen by Beethoven, even though it well describes the work’s majestic bearing.
The early version of the orchestral poem Macbeth by Richard Strauss is based on the powerful Shakespeare drama. Competing with Strauss for the status of foremost opera composer of his day was Vienna’s Franz Schreker. His Vorspiel zu einem Drama is an expanded concert overture to one of his great hits, the opera Die Gezeichneten.

Starting from 25 € 25 € /

Coffee or drinks?

Radion sinfoniaorkesteri


Starting from 25 €

Buy tickets

Coffee or drinks?

Order refreshments